Brains Bennette at Five Thousand

Brains BennetteThe PDF file of Brains Bennette: The Case of the Missing Mother was posted here on June 16th, 2012, about 3.5 weeks ago. As of today, July the 11th, the 82-page novella has been downloaded no less than 5,000 times.

That’s a lot of downloads. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who took the time to read my story, and of course Femur at TGComics for the front-page recommendation that sent an avalanche of readers my way.

I’m not sure if 5,000 downloads means 5,000 different readers. Some people may have downloaded the file each time they read part of it, without actually saving it anywhere. That’s understandable. Some people might begin reading and find the story not to their liking—although I certainly haven’t heard any complaints. 🙂

Obviously, and sadly, there’s been very little feedback. A few comments here and a few over at TGComics, and that’s about it. I didn’t expect a lot—I know how it is online, particularly in the TG community—but I had hoped for more than that. I put a lot of work into this story and it would be nice to know it was appreciated.

That said, I’m not here to sulk. I didn’t write this story to entertain anybody, or even to participate in the online community. I wrote it for myself. I wrote for the experience, for the sheer enjoyment of writing, and to prove to myself that I could write a long story and sustain the plot right to the end. And I hope everyone who writes TG fiction or captions can say the same thing. Feeling unappreciated is perfectly understandable, but ultimately, if you don’t love the writing for its own sake, you’re in it for the wrong reasons.

Amanda

8 thoughts on “Brains Bennette at Five Thousand

  1. I enjoy seeing tg fics that try to move beyond the simplistic fab fics. Yours did that by a furlong. It was actually a good read on its own but with the tg elements as intricate part of it. When I read a tg story, I expect tg to be a dominating element of the story and it certainly was in this. However there was also a mystery to move it along. Is there two mysteries in the story? The disappearance of Brain’s mother, and the mystery of why some who’ve been born as guy wants to mimic a woman as close as possible? I’d add the mystery of the inner workings of the Brain character, but Holmesian characters like him are made to make the reader wonder about that. Its no mystery, its just authors choice about how much information our viewpoint have access to. Unfortunately I never got a sense of who Brain was at the end, only a sympathy for why he was a crossdresser. His partner was a bit one-dimensional, and seemed to be there more as a spectator than anything. Those are the only problems I have with it otherwise.

    I hope the paucity of comments won’t stunt your writing ambitions. I would love to see another equally long (or longer) work tackling these things.

    • Thanks, Leonhard, I appreciate your thoughtful comments.

      You’re quite right about the characters. The viewpoint character (Jimmy) is there precisely to be a spectator, while the story is driven by the actions of the main character (Brains). We never get inside Brains’ head because we only know what Jimmy knows. This is a limitation of the style I chose to write the story in. If you go back to the original Brains Benton books (or others like them), you’ll see the same thing.

  2. Amanda,
    Thanks very much for writing this story. I picked up the link from TGComics and downloaded it and finished it a couple weeks ago. Since then I’ve been downloading all your older stories and reading and re-reading them.

    They’re all fun to read, but Brains Bennette is definitely your best work yet!

    As a long-time science fiction fan, that aspect of it really appealed to me.

    Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more in the future.

    • Thanks, Joni. I’m glad you enjoyed the SciFi aspect of the story too; it was more of a stretch for me than sticking with the usual TG stuff, so it’s nice to know that it worked out.

  3. Thank you for writing this story. It was good fun to read and an enjoyable ending. I certainly intended to comment, but I have been rather stuck into captioning to the detriment of other things.

  4. Amanda,

    Excellent work.
    The moment I saw the title, I thought of the old Brains Benton series. When I read “Operative Number Three,” I knew for sure. You held so closely to the actual series I didn’t expect anything beyond Brains’ dressing-up. People from the future and the SciFi TG really threw me for a loop. Once I got past that and re-read it, it flowed very nicely.

    Again, excellent work and thank you.

    Yasuo

    • Thanks, Yasuo. I was definitely aiming for a Brains Benton pastiche, although for the life of me I have no idea WHY the idea was so appealing. But the SciFi aspect did rather come out of left field, didn’t it? I had it in mind all along, of course, so it was hard for me to gauge how surprising it might be for the reader. I should have slipped in some hint, early in the first chapter, that the story wasn’t just going to be a run-of-the-mill mystery. Ah, hindsight!

      Amanda

A reply would be appreciated, but is not required...

